web analytics

Book Club

Sign up for BeanStackSign up for a free BeanStack account with your library card number and email address. Keep track of your reading online, write reviews to share with other library patrons, and earn badges as you complete your reading goals.

See a list of all the Adams County Public Library’s New Books, updated weekly. Browse lists of all the library’s new books by category. Hear about a great book on the TV or radio? Books on the Air is a list of all the titles mentioned in national media this week. Sign up to receive monthly email newsletters of the library’s new items by topics that interest you.

Feb
22
Thu
Book Club @ North Adams Library
Feb 22 @ 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Book Club @ North Adams Library | Seaman | Ohio | United States

Join Julia and the North Adams Library Adult Book Club on Thursday, February 22 at 5:30 p.m. to discuss The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict. Borrow a copy of this title in hardback, softcover, or audio book from the library desk in advance, and read along with us. View our full 2018 Reading List, and join the Adult Book Club on the last Thursday of each month.

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein’s enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein’s wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

Mar
19
Mon
Book Club @ Peebles Library
Mar 19 @ 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Book Club @ Peebles Library | Peebles | Ohio | United States

Join the Peebles Library Book Club, “The Bibliophiles,” on the third Monday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the Peebles Library. Everyone is welcome to join us! For more information call Nick Slone at 937-587-2085. Browse reviews and summaries of our 2018 reading list, and find these titles in our Catalog. Pick up a copy of next month’s title at the Peebles Library.

On March 19, we’ll discuss The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.

The Handmaid’s Tale is a novel of such power that the reader will be unable to forget its images and its forecast. Set in the near future, it describes life in what was once the United States and is now called the Republic of Gilead, a monotheocracy that has reacted to social unrest and a sharply declining birthrate by reverting to, and going beyond, the repressive intolerance of the original Puritans. The regime takes the Book of Genesis absolutely at its word, with bizarre consequences for the women and men in its population.

The story is told through the eyes of Offred, one of the unfortunate Handmaids under the new social order. In condensed but eloquent prose, by turns cool-eyed, tender, despairing, passionate, and wry, she reveals to us the dark corners behind the establishment’s calm facade, as certain tendencies now in existence are carried to their logical conclusions. The Handmaid’s Tale is funny, unexpected, horrifying, and altogether convincing. It is at once scathing satire, dire warning, and a tour de force. It is Margaret Atwood at her best.

Mar
29
Thu
Book Club @ North Adams Library
Mar 29 @ 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Book Club @ North Adams Library | Seaman | Ohio | United States

Join the North Adams Library’s adult book club. We meet on the last Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the North Adams Library. Pick up a copy of each month’s book in advance at the library desk. Ask about large print or audio book copies. Can’t join us in person? Pick up a copy of the title of the month, and read along with us! Share your thoughts about the novel on Facebook or Beanstack. Browse the 2018 reading list below.

On Thursday, March 29 at 5:30 p.m., we’ll discuss The Orphan’s Tale by Pam Jenoff.

This powerful novel of friendship set in a German traveling circus during World War II introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the façade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, they must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another.





North Adams Library Book Club

Join the North Adams Library’s adult book club. We meet on the last Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the North Adams Library. Pick up a copy of each month’s book in advance at the library desk. Ask about large print or audio book copies. Browse the 2018 reading list below. Each month, we’ll discuss the book of the month, share thoughts, and moderator Julia will share quizzes, prizes, and snacks. For more information, call Julia at 937-386-2556.

2018 Reading List


Bibliophiles Peebles Library Book Club

Join the Peebles Library Book Club, “The Bibliophiles,” on the third Monday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the Peebles Library. Each fall, we’ll vote on a reading list for the coming year. Everyone is welcome to join us! For more information call Nick Slone at 937-587-2085. Browse reviews and summaries, and find these titles in our Catalog. Pick up a copy of next month’s title at the Peebles Library.

2018 Reading List